Anyone want to hire me?

Looking at this blog again I wondered whether I should feel guilty that my last post was a couple of weeks ago. But then I decided that no-one will have missed me on here and dispelled the guilt. Deciding on a realistic volume of posts is something I’ll definitely need to do at the end of this course. I suspect keeping them short and sweet – less rambling – will help with this, so here goes.

Thing 5: networking via LinkedIn and Academia.edu. I use both. You can admire my LinkedIn profile and offer me a job based on my skill set and, well, perhaps my academia.edu profile isn’t worth linking to. Both, as I found in week 2 of DH23Things come up on my first page of Google, but LinkedIn first. LinkedIn used to be valuable to me when I worked in business publishing. Groups I set up when I was a business-to-business editor a few years ago now have 200 members. When I couldn’t get a reply from company directors via email I’d usually get a reply almost instantaneously via a LinkedIn message.

LinkedIn is certainly a good way to keep your CV your fresh and forces you to summarise what you do in one or two sentences. I hope that one day I’ll get head-hunted here (any offers?) but I’m not sure how often that really happens. It’s a good business address book to help you keep track of people when they change jobs. As far as I can see most academics aren’t on LinkedIn – CRASSH’s group only has 30 members! – so as a networking tool it’s perhaps of limited use to me while I’m in higher education. There are though a number of interesting groups that share relevant content like the Guardian higher education group.

Wondering where all the academics are, I turned to academia.edu, where I have to confess I feel a bit of an imposter. Are you even supposed to be on this site if you’re not an academic? Probably not. I thought it would be a good way to follow academics but I actually prefer to follow people via Twitter or Facebook instead as for me academia.edu is just one channel too many and it’s less personal. I did once experiment with joining a discussion where I was told off for talking about the wrong century and haven’t said anything there since. I think Nellie Phoca-Cosmetatou‘s profile is a great example of how to use academia.edu; you can access all of her papers here, some of which have had 100s of views through this.

I don’t spend much time on either LinkedIn or academia.edu and I should probably go further and quit academia.edu, as it just clutters up my online facade. I hope that my LinkedIn connections will prove useful in the future for employability, but for the moment it’s just nice to keep track of where people move to in a space that is personal without being intimate.

2 thoughts on “Anyone want to hire me?

  1. I should add for the benefit of companies using LinkedIn that at the moment the person who sets up the group retains admin control of the group regardless of if they’ve left the job. So if you end up with unhappy employees leaving you might want to watch out! Of course I’ve been entirely professional in how I manage my previous company’s groups, simply approving new members and not joining in discussions.

  2. Good point about group admins….!

    One of the criticisms of LinkedIn and Academia.edu is that to make it really work as a social networking platform, you need to be on it a lot, but a professional platform is never going to get as much use as a personal one such as Facebook, not least as it will be very visible to your employer how much time you spend on it at work! I’d like to take more advantage of it as a social networking site rather than as an online CV but get the impression that academics don’t tend to interact on it much. It’s more a way to keep updated rather than a genuine two-way dialogue, I get the impression.

    and I’d love to be headhunted, but I don’t think academia works that way, sadly!

Leave a Reply

